It’s a New Year! Time for some resolutions! And some snow too.

It’s that time of year. And by that I mean, the time of year when ginormous amounts of snow decide to descend upon New England and again make us question why we ever left the Gulf South. (That happens to everyone, right?) The result, predictably, is this:

IMG_3145

IMG_3147

It’s also the time of year when most of us make earnest and short-lived vows to lose weight become more self-actualized people. In keeping with tradition, I thought I’d take this post to highlight a few of my resolutions, both for my blog, and for my general upcoming Peace Corps experience. Several were drawn from my experiences living and studying in India, which I think give me an inkling into what I will experience living – particularly with host families – in Morocco.

Resolutions for this blog:

  • Don’t always write about myself. Be substantive.
  • Avoid over-use of the words: rich, colorful, lively, exotic.
  • Never post pictures of myself carrying babies/surrounded by children, i.e. the “aid brochure photo.” Exceptions made for host family relatives and children whose names I will actually remember five years from now.
  • Be sure not to check the social justice at the door.
  • Don’t self-aggrandize during the highs.
  • Be honest about the lows.
  • Do my very best to post pictures. Blogs without pictures often make my eyes glaze.
  • Be funny, at least sometimes!

Resolutions for the Peace Corps:

  •  Always be aware of my own smallness. I may be my own protagonist, but I am a crumb on the face of the universe and I am an eyewink in time to the history of Morocco, and my Americanness/whiteness/displacedness do not make me special.
  • Don’t forget I am participating in a system that may be treading the familiar paths of some older systems that I categorically abhor, although I obviously continue to benefit from them. Be aware of this so I can catch myself if I need to.
  • Remember why I love being Jewish. Hang onto that although I will be without a Jewish community for the next two years.
  • Use all that Peace Corps downtime to keep learning and creating. I have picked up some great hobbies to occupy myself with – you can do a lot with a new skill set through 27 months of honing.
  • Don’t forget what I learned in all those AVODAH self-care workshops!
  • Remember that a certain amount of privacy will come eventually. I just have to tough it out until then.
  • Learn that language. Learn the socks off it.
  • Try not to be psychologically or emotionally defeated by my treatment as a woman, and by sexual harassment in general.
  • Learn to be okay with feeling like I’m lying to host country nationals I become close to because I’m withholding certain things about myself.

And to return to the snow theme, let’s close with an oldie but a goodie:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

